T minus 30

30 06 2011

Hi friends! Thanks for stopping by to check out the first post on my brand new blog. Since you’re here, I can safely assume that you know I’m moving to Japan to teach English. So here’s what you probably don’t know. I’m going as an ALT on the JET Program. Before I get acronym crazy, I’ll tell you that ALT means Assistant Language Teacher. I will co-teach with a JTE (Japanese Teacher of English), and I will be responsible for making lesson plans and administering and grading pretty much all of the oral competencies.  I will be living in Yamaga-shi, a small city in Kumamoto prefecture on the island of Kyushu. My time will be divided among three senior high schools–one in Yamaga-shi, where I’ll teach 3 times a week, and two schools two days a week in Nankan-machi and Tamana-shi, respectively. Sidenote: I learned that you can tell the size of a locale by the suffix. -Shi means that it is a city while -machi means that it is a little town. Neat, right?

But I digress…

I have 30 days before I make my way to land of the rising sun and I have to tell you…its making me a little crazy.

Crazy Face's last stand at Little Bit Anxious

I’ve not packed a single box or suitcase nor have I posted the furniture I intend to sell on Craigslist. To put it mildly, I’m behind schedule. I did, however, accomplish two major feats today. First, I completed some required IRS paperwork, and second, I completed my Visa application. I also made

a call to my local AAA so that I can get an international driver’s permit. That’s a same-day deal so I’ll probably wait until I’m officially unemployed and do that during the day. And oh yeah, I started this blog. So actually, I have three major accomplishments for the day. Take that anxiety! *shakes angry fist*


Actions

Information

12 responses

30 06 2011
erika b.

Rochelle!!! Long time chica! I’m so happy you’re getting everything together. I look forward to reading the great blogs! Take Care,Erika

1 07 2011
Rochelle

Erika! Hey hun. Thanks for reading and a special thank you for commenting 🙂

1 07 2011
A. Kai

I am lovin you first blog entry. So Rochelle. So Real, So Funny! I am coming to visit!

1 07 2011
Rochelle

Ayana is that you? Yes, please come visit me! Thanks for commenting.

1 07 2011
C Wiltz

Hi Rochelle!
So happy for you and very proud of you. I hope we can catch up soon.. but we both have been so busy. I pray you have a safe trip.
miss and love you
Casandra

1 07 2011
rochellealecia

Thanks Casandra! Love you too!! I had hoped to get down to New Orleans before leaving but time is running out. I will definitely be making a trip when I get back.

1 07 2011
Michelle

Go Roch! Lots of encouragment and positive energia for you! I’m so excited about your trip and have already factored in Japan as my travel plans for 2012! Good luck with everything.

1 07 2011
rochellealecia

Thanks Meesh! I hope you’ll be coming to visit me over your spring or summer break next year!

2 07 2011
Rachel

I’m excited about the blog!!! Even though I’ll miss you like CRAZY, i’m looking forward to my 100 pics per month 🙂 Start packing please, I need you to be fully rested for the journey ahead.

Love you tons,

Rach

2 07 2011
rochellealecia

Lol! Thanks boo. You know I’ll miss you too. Just when we’re finally in the same place again I up and leave. But fear not bestie, I’ll be back. xoxoxoxo

3 07 2011
Phyllis W.

Hey Cousin,
Congratulations on this opportunity. Looking forward to reading about your experiences in Japan.

3 07 2011
rochellealecia

Thanks Phyllis! I can’t wait to share

Leave a comment